NCAA Bowling

Razor, O’Steen Receive SWAC Bowling Postseason Honors

savanna razor head shot

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.- Alabama State University’s Savannah Razor was named the the Southwestern Athletic Conference Bowler of the Year while Lyric O’Steen earned First-Team All-SWAC honors announced on Monday, March 20, 2023. 

Savannah Razor

The all-conference honors and individual award winners were determined by average individual pinfall during conference play. 

Alabama State’s Savanna Razor (214.33) and Southern’s Jailyn Rogers (199.96) headline the All-SWAC First Team finishing in first and second place respectively.


Alabama State’s Lyric O’Steen (198.74), Florida A&M’s Jordan Shipp (197.04) and Prairie View A&M’s

lyric osteen head shot
Lyric O’Steen

Stephanie Vasquez (196.52), round out the first team members after finishing regular season competition ranked third through fifth respectively.


Southern’s Alanna Coward (194.92), Texas Southern’s Evan Smith (194.20), Prairie View A&M’s Jayda Gordon (193.04), Texas Southern’s Cassie De La Fuente (191.96) and Florida A&M’s Francesca Olay (191.04) were tabbed as members of the All-SWAC Second Team after concluding regular season play ranked sixth through tenth respectively.


Alabama State’s Savanna Razor claimed SWAC Bowler of the Year while Prairie View A&M’s Jayda Gordon took home SWAC Freshman of the Year accolades. 

Southern head coach Barry Doyle was named SWAC Coach of the Year after leading the Lady Jaguars to a regular season title with an impressive 20-8 overall record in league play.


The 2023 SWAC Bowling Championship is set for March 24-26 at the ITRC in Arlington, Texas.


A complete listing of postseason award recipients is displayed below.  


Coach of the Year

Barry Doyle, Southern


Bowler of the Year

Savanna Razor, Alabama State


Freshman of the Year

Jayda Gordon, Prairie View A&M


All-SWAC Bowling First Team

Savanna Razor, Alabama State

Jailyn Rogers, Southern

Lyric O’Steen, Alabama State

Jordan Shipp, Florida A&M

Stephanie Vasquez, Prairie View A&M


All-SWAC Bowling Second Team

Alanna Coward, Southern

Evan Smith, Texas Southern

Jayda Gordon, Prairie View A&M

Cassie De La Fuente, Texas Southern

Francesca Olay, Florida A&M


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Alabama State University Athletics…