NCAA Bowling

Four A-State Bowlers Earn Southland Bowling League Recognition

Four A-State Bowlers Earn Southland Bowling League Recognition

JONESBORO, Ark. (5/2/23) – Led by First Team All-Southland Bowling League selection Brooklyn Buchanan, the Arkansas State women’s bowling team had four student-athletes earn all-conference recognition in the postseason awards announced Tuesday.

Buchanan was a first team selection while Emma Stull was named Second Team All-Southland Bowling League and Maggie Thoma was named to the third team. Thoma was joined by Karli VanDuinen on the Southland Bowling League All-Rookie Team.

Buchanan anchored A-State and was named Third Team NTCA All-American and Third Team NTCA All-Central Region. She averaged 208.4 in Baker and 208.3 in traditional games and had a 55.1 percent Baker double percentage. She converted 85.2 percent of her single pin spares.

Stull was the leadoff bowler for A-State and was named Honorable Mention NTCA All-American. Stull averaged 198.4 in Baker and 208.9 in traditional games and had a 92.4 percent single pin spare conversion rate.

Thoma bowled in the third spot of the lineup much of the spring and was the tournament MVP at the Southland Bowling League Championship. Thoma averaged 201.7 in Baker and 206.9 in traditional games converting 85.1 single pin spares. VanDuinen rolled in the second spot of the A-State lineup and averaged 202.7 in Baker and 200.1 in traditional games with an 88.3 percent single pin spare conversion rate.

A-State finished runner-up at the National Collegiate Bowling Championship for just the third time in program history. The Red Wolves finished the postseason unbeaten in mega-matches, winning the Southland Bowling League title for the third time in program history.

For the latest on A-State women’s bowling, follow the team on Twitter (@AstateBowling), Facebook (/AstateBowling) and Instagram (@redwolvesbowling).

Southland Bowling League All-Conference


Carlene Beyer – Stephen F. Austin

Brooklyn Buchanan – Arkansas State

Mabel Cummins – Vanderbilt

Allie Leiendecker – Louisiana Tech

Madyson Marx – Youngstown State


Alyssa Ballard – Vanderbilt

Denise Blankenzee – Sam Houston

Elise Chambers – Sam Houston

Emma Stull – Arkansas State

Chloe Skurzynski – Stephen F. Austin


Bea Hernandez – Sam Houston

Lindsay Manning – Louisiana Tech

Caroline Thesier – Vanderbilt

Maggie Thoma – Arkansas State

Victoria Varano – Vanderbilt


Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Arkansas State University…