NCAA Bowling

Hall of Fame Tickets Stil Available For Sept. 29 Induction Ceremony

Hall of Fame Tickets Stil Available For Sept. 29 Induction Ceremony

MONTGOMERY, Ala. | Tickets still remain for the 2023 Alabama State University Athletics Hall of Fame incudtion ceremony on September 29 at the John Garrick Hardy Center Ball Room on the campus of ASU.

The Alabama State Athletics Hall of Fame will enshrine 13 former Hornet and Lady Hornets greats and one as the Distinguished Sportsman Award  Baseball (1), men’s basketball (4), women’s basketball (2), football (4), men’s track and field (2) and women’s track and field (1) make up the 14 inductees.

This year’s inductees are Larry Watkins (baseball), Danny Crenshaw (men’s basketball), Kevin Loder (men’s basketball), James Oliver, Sr. (men’s basketball), Willie Scott (men’s basketball), Freda Freeman-Jackson (women’s basketball), Barbara Williams (women’s basketball), Severne Frazier (football)Frank Lewis (football), Zefross Moss (football), John Jones (men’s track and field), Horace Crump (men’s track and field), and Jennifer Morgan (women’s track and field). 

Larry Shaw will be honored with the Alabama State Sports Hall of Fame’s Distinguished Sportsman Award. Shaw, a corporate executive from Fayetteville, North Carolina, served in the North Carolina State House of Representatives from 1994-1997. He joined the North Carolina State Senate in 1997 and served in that position until 2011, representing the 21st District. He was the Co-Founder of North South Meatpackers and worked there from 1988-1993. He has been CEO/Contractor for Shaw Food Services since 1974. Shaw was an All-SIAC football player and had his number 51 jersey retired at Alabama State University for his heroics on the gridiron. 


Watkins is synonymous with Alabama State baseball, having played for the team as a center fielder where he was nicknamed the “Toy Cannon.” A member of the first Alabama State team to appear in the NCAA playoffs, the Hornet lifer coached the program for more than 30 years, amassing a school-record 513 victories and numerous postseason appearances. Watkins was named SWAC Coach of the Year in 1991 and twice won Eastern Division Coach of the Year honors.  Watkins is a 2018 SWAC Hall of Fame inductee. 

Crenshaw starred for the Alabama State basketball Hornets for four seasons. He left Ole Mother…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Alabama State University Athletics…