NCAA Bowling

A-State Punches Ticket to Detroit for NCAA Championship

A-State Punches Ticket to Detroit for NCAA Championship

ROCHESTER, N.Y. (4/6/24) – Defeating No. 4 Vanderbilt 2-1 in a mega-match Saturday afternoon, the No. 2 overall seed Arkansas State women’s bowling team punched its ticket to Detroit for the 2024 National Collegiate Bowling Championship April 12-13 at Thunderbowl Lanes in Allen Park, Mich.

With the win, A-State improved to 85-26 on the season and wins the Rochester Regional for the second consecutive season. The Red Wolves are assured of a top four finish in the NCAA Championship for the sixth time in program history following runner-up finishes in 2008, 2021 and 2023 along with third-place finishes in 2010 and 2013.

A-State used 10-straight strikes in the third and fourth frames to build an advantage and took the traditional point 1,058-975. Four Red Wolves eclipsed 200 pins paced by Faith Welch (236) and Maggie Thoma (234). Brooklyn Buchanan totaled 216, Saralyne Nassberg rolled 212 and Karli VanDuinen downed 160.

Vanderbilt rolled the front seven in game one of the Baker 5-game total pinfall and built a 60-pin advantage following a 233-173 margin in game one. A-State cut the deficit to 13 taking game two 224-177, but the Commodores won game three 256-192 to hold a 77-pin lead going to game four. The Red Wolves responded once again taking game four 215-168 to trail by 30 pins going to game five, but Vanderbilt evened the mega-match by a margin of 1,042-999 following a 208-195 tally in game five.

The Commodores took the first game in the Baker best-of-seven, but A-State took the next four games to clinch the match. Vanderbilt took game one, 191-170, but the Red Wolves evened the series with a 207-169 margin in game two. The A-State lead swelled to 2-1 with a 199-165 tally in game three and a 219-168 win in game four before A-State closed out the win in game five.

The championship matches will be played April 12-13 at Thunderbowl Lanes in Allen Park, Mich. All four teams to reach the championship in Detroit hail from Conference USA; No. 1 Jacksonville State, No. 2 Arkansas State, No. 3 Youngstown State and Sam Houston State. A-State will meet Youngstown State while Jacksonville State meets Sam Houston Friday, April 12, at 8:00 a.m. (CT).

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Arkansas State University…