Bowling News

Qualifiers emerge at 2023 Summerset Nationals

Qualifiers emerge at 2023 Summerset Nationals

Following two days of section play, qualifiers have emerged in the men’s pairs and women’s singles at the 2023 Summerset Nationals.

Jointly hosted by the Auckland and North Harbour centres, more than 400 bowlers have travelled from all parts of the country to contest a national title in the singles, pairs and open disability disciplines – the latter taking on a slightly revised format to allow wider participation.

As play got underway across multiple greens, qualifying panned out mostly as predicted, with only a few upsets along the way.

Two defeats on the second day saw the North East Valley pairing of Mike Kernaghan and Roger Stevens scrambling for a final round victory, securing their place in the post-section action – while 2021 champions Lance Pascoe and Jamie Hill were also left sweating on a final round win to advance and keep their title hopes alive. Both combinations were able to secure the required win.

Defending champions Andrew Kelly and Seamus Curtin also coasted through qualifying, securing five wins from as many starts, while the pairing of Shannon McIlroy and Kelvin Scott looked equally impressive, registering a full suite of wins to advance to the knockout rounds and hardly getting out of second gear.

Record national title holder Gary Lawson, teamed up with Blackjack Tony Grantham, were in fine form throughout, progressing comfortably through to the next stage and keeping their names in the mix.

Other qualifiers in the men’s field (skips only) include Adam Collins, Adam Haywood, Aiden Takarua, Anthony Ouellet, Ap Bell, Bruce Hickman, Camron Horo, Carlson Barnett, Chris Lowe, Chris Taylor, Cliff Webber, Colin Gawith, Craig Merrilees, Dan Dickison, David Clark, David Eades, David Nightingale, David Payne, Dean Elgar, Finbar McGuigan, Frankie Lim, Garry Muriwai, Gary Lawrence, Gavin Scrivener, Gerard Slattery, Glenn Newton, Grant Sargison, Ian Fisher, Jeremy Brosnan, Jerry Belcher, John Brooks, John Carruthers, John Gray, Kyle McGowan, Lou Newman, Mark Waugh, Mathew Watson, Matthew Higginson, Maurice Symes, Michael Solomon, Mike Bradshaw, Mike Galloway, Neil Fisher, Neven Grgicevich, Parmesh Raman, Pat Houlahan, Paul Daniels, Paul Hickey, Paul Price, Paul Wightman, Peadar Macelvanna, Peni Panapa, Petar Sain, Peter Blucher, Peter Nathan, Peter Orgias, Ray Glogoski, Raymond Martin, Richard Kempthorne, Rodney Downes, Rory Soden, Scott McGavin, Shane Bell, Shane Drabble, Sheldon Bagrie-Howley, Simon Hitchcock, Stephen Willis, Steve…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at News | Bowls New Zealand…