NCAA Bowling

Brings Seventh SWAC Commissioners Cup Home

Brings Seventh SWAC Commissioners Cup Home

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.- The Alabama State University Athletics Department claimed two-of-three Southwestern Athletic Conference all-sports awards winning the James Frank Commissioner’s Cup and the Sadie Magee/Barbara Jacket Award. 

The James Frank Commissioner’s Cup is Alabama State University seventh in the last nine years awarded and returns to Montgomery after a two-years vacationing at another campus. 

The all-sports awards are determined by program finishes in league sponsored sports. Each respective team finish is awarded a point value and the member institutions with the highest point totals at the conclusion of the athletic season are subsequently awarded.

Alabama State won six SWAC championships this past athletic year (163 points) claiming league titles in the sports of Volleyball (regular season), Men’s and Women’s Indoor Track and Field, Men’s Outdoor Track and Field, and Men’s Tennis (regular season/tournament). Jackson State (157.5 points) and Prairie View A&M (132.5) claimed second and third place respectively.

The Tigers won the C.D. Henry Award after accumulating 72.5 points in men’s sponsored sports. Alabama State (69 points) and Texas Southern (57 points) finished in second a third place overall.  


Alabama State claimed the Sadie Magee/Barbara Jacket Award finishing with 94 points in the women’s final standings. Jackson State (85 points) and Prairie View A&M (83 points) finished second and third respectively.


A complete listing of final standings and individual program point totals for the three awards can be found below.

2022-23 SWAC Commissioner’s Cup 

  1. Alabama State- 163.0
  2. Jackson State- 157.5
  3. Prairie View A&M- 132.5
  4. Southern- 122.5
  5. Texas Southern- 119.5
  6. Grambling State- 112.5
  7. Florida A&M- 104.5
  8. Bethune-Cookman- 101.5
  9. Alcorn State- 94.0
  10. Alabama A&M- 91.5
  11. Arkansas-Pine Bluff- 81.0
  12. Mississippi Valley State- 35.0  

2022-23 SWAC Magee/Jacket Award 

  1. Alabama State- 94.0
  2. Jackson State- 85.0
  3. Prairie View A&M- 83.0
  4. Grambling State- 69.0
  5. Southern- 67.0
  6. Texas Southern- 62.5
  7. Florida A&M- 61.0
  8. Alabama A&M- 55.5
  9. Alcorn State- 54.0
  10. Bethune-Cookman- 51.5
  11. Arkansas-Pine Bluff- 38.0
  12. Mississippi Valley State- 17.5 

2022-23 SWAC C.D. Henry Award
     1. Jackson State- 72.5
     2. Alabama State- 69.0
     3. Texas Southern- 57.0

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at Alabama State University Athletics…