Bowling News

All to play for as knockout action looms

All to play for as knockout action looms

Defending champions Sandra Keith and Bev Morel have bowed out in the qualifying stages of the 2023 Summerset Nationals, unable to capture last year’s form and registering just one win from five in the women’s pairs.


As play came to a close after two days of qualifying in the men’s singles, women’s pairs and open disability pairs, the qualifiers have been found in all disciplines -with the last eight now found in the disability pairs.


With wild weather still causing disruptions to the original playing schedule, games have been able to proceed using a scattering of artificial surfaces and under the roof complexes such as Orewa Bowling Club and New Lynn.


Leaving nothing to chance in the men’s singles, reigning champion Kelvin Scott was in devastating form as he accounted for all of his opposition, comfortably progressing through to the elimination rounds on Sunday.


Equally comfortable in the qualifying rounds were former winners Tony Grantham, Mike Galloway, Shannon McIlroy, Andrew Kelly, Gary Lawson, Taylor Horn and Dean Elgar. Other qualifiers include young guns Seamus Curtin, Finbar McGuigan, Aiden Zittersteijn, Aidan Takarua, Liam Hill, David Motu, Sheldon Bagrie-Howley, Logan Clark, Tom Taiaroa, Oliver Mason, Hamish Kape, Adam Blucher, Damin Hitchcock, Simon Hitchcock, and Ray Martin – continuing with an impressive showing, unbeaten in six starts.


Meanwhile, last year’s runners-up Clare Hendra and Tayla Bruce registered the required four wins, along with formidable combinations Dale Rayner (Kaaren Guilford), Nicole Toomey (Mary-Ann Wilson), Mandy and Angela Boyd, Olivia Bloomfield (Lisa Prideaux), Bronwyn Stevens (Ange Francis), Wendy Jensen (Robyne Walker), Amy McIlroy (Selina Goddard), Karen De Jongh (Deb White) and Ashleigh Jeffcoat (Kimberley Hemingway).


In other results, the quarter-finalists for the open disability pairs have emerged, with knockout-play set to get underway on Sunday at the Orewa Bowling Club. Those who have made the cut include the recently crowned singles champion Darron Wolland and his lead Teri Blackbourn, Kevin Asplin and Carolyn Crawford, Sue Curran and Gerald Brouwers, Steve Delaney and Jonathan Radka, Warwick Flintoff and Lynda Bennett, Kerrin Wheeler and Glenn Hanneman, Kurt Smith and Philip Huwyler and Graham Skellern and Bruce Wakefield.


The post-section action will commence on Sunday, and will be live streamed on Youtube. For the full qualifying results and post-section draw,  click…

Click Here to Read the Full Original Article at News | Bowls New Zealand…